Home / Celebrities / V.C. Andrews Biography

V.C. Andrews Biography

Full nameCleo Virginia Andrews
Birth placePortsmouth, Virginia, USA
Birth date1923-6-6
Age96 years, 9 month, 18 days
Star signGemini

Cleo Virginia Andrews sources


Cleo Virginia Andrews Biography:

In 1979, she released Flowers in the Attic, the initial episode of her Dollanganger show. She went to compose three sequels. In 1985, Andrews released the very first novel of her Casteel series, Heaven. Its sequel hit the stands the next year. After Andrews expired on December 19, 1986, in Virginia Beach writer Andrew Neiderman finished both show. While the writer was growing up, her dad was employed as a die maker and her mom as a phone operator. Thirsting to get a much more adventuresome life, the youthful Andrews spent much of her spare time escaping to the world of novels.

As a teenager, Andrews attended Portsmouth’s Woodrow Wilson High School, where she acquired a love for art and theatre. In her young adulthood, she developed rheumatoid arthritis, which afterwards confined her to a wheel chair. Following her end of a four-year art correspondence course, Andrews spent many years working as a successful commercial artist, portraitist and style illustrator.

Despite Andrews’s art being featured in a number of galleries, she discovered her vocation path carrying through, so she started to compose on the side, averaging 30-40 pages a night. Increasingly drawn toward the fictional universes that she’d inhabited as kid, in 1979, Andrews released Flowers in the Attic, the initial novel in what would come to be known as her Dollanganger show. Though critics gave the novel nasty reviews, it was an instant mainstream success, reaching the top of bestseller list just two weeks after its release.

All were fast hits with readers, who could not seem to get enough of the greed, incest and negligence taking place behind closed doors at the Dollanganger family estate. Between If There Be Thorns and Seeds of Yesterday, Andrews composed the standalone novel My Sweet Audrina (1982). In 1985, Andrews published the very first novel of her Casteel series, Heaven. Its first sequel, Dark Angel, reach the stands the next year.

In 1987, writer Andrew Neiderman finished and printed Garden of Shadows, the last novel in the Dollanganger series, under V.C. Andrews’s name. Neiderman also composed and credited to Andrews several added book series. Along with such novels, two self-titled movie adaptations according to V.C. Andrews’s Flowers in the Attic were released posthumously.

V.C. Andrews Biography

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *