Home / Writers / Richard Matheson Biography

Richard Matheson Biography

Full nameRichard Burton Matheson
Know asRichard Matheson, Matheson, Richard
Birth placeAllendale, New Jersey, USA
Birth date1926-02-20
Lived87 years, 4 month, 3 days
Star signPisces
OccupationNovelist, Short story writer, Screenwriter
EducationUniversity of Missouri

Richard Burton Matheson sources


Richard Burton Matheson Biography:

Writer Richard Matheson was born in 1926 in New Jersey. He’s arguably best remembered for his novel I Am Legend (1954), that has been adapted into movie on three different occasions: The Last Man on Earth (1964), The Omega Man (1971) and I’m Legend (2007). Along with writing novels, Matheson was employed as a screenwriter, authoring several episodes of The Twilight Zone (1959). He perished in Calabasas, California, on June 23, 2013.

Matheson’s parents divorced when he was 8 years old, and he was raised by his mom in Brooklyn, Ny. Around once, he saw his first piece of work a poem printed in the Brooklyn Eagle. It was also during his youth that Matheson saw the movie Dracula, which got the lad believe, “If one vampire is frightful, what in the event the entire world is filled with vampires?” according to the Archive of American Television. Richard Matheson’s interest in writing and reading continued to grow as he got old. As a teen, he read a big variety of novels from writer Kenneth Roberts, among his first effects. Not long after, he relocated to California.

While in California, Matheson started attempting to set up himself as an author. His first novel, Hunger and Thirst, remained unpublished for a long time. This work indicated the first of many printed stories focusing on the darker, twisted and unusual side of reality. Readers valued Matheson’s talent for creating unexplainable scenarios in traditional surroundings. He continued to compose several other printed narratives, including Third from the Sun (1950), Trespass (1953) as well as The Evaluation (1954), but it was not enough to support the writer fiscally.

The novel was so popular that it had been made into a movie the next year, entitled The Incredible Shrinking Man. Several film adaptations originating from Matheson’s narratives followed, including Duel (1971), movie star Steven Spielberg’s first feature-length movie; Stir of Echoes (1999); Somewhere in Time (1980); and What Dreams May Come (1998). Matheson also composed several memorable pieces for television during his heyday, especially for the sci fi show The Twilight Zone (1959). Matheson also composed the episodes “Steel” and “Button, Button,” which were accommodated to the movies Real Steel (2011) and The Box (2009), respectively.

Matheson continued to compose successful novels then, branching out into genres beyond science fiction. In 1993, his bestselling nonfiction novel The Path, an expansion of his interest in paranormal topics in What Dreams May Come, was released. Almost a decade after, he released the children’s book Abu and the Seven Marvels (2002). Matheson expired on June 23, 2013, in Calabasas, California, of natural causes. Though he might not have been as well known as other scifi writers of his time, several notable authors have commended Matheson for his innovative and distinctive kind of storytelling.

Matheson has additionally been acknowledged by several respected organizations. He was inducted to the Science Fiction Hall of Fame in 2010, and he died only days before he was scheduled for the Visionary Award in the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films in the Saturn Awards. In 1952, Matheson wed Ruth Ann Woodson, whom he met soon after moving to California. The couple has four kids together. Three of Matheson’s kids have followed in their own father’s footsteps, becoming writers.

Richard Matheson Biography

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *