Home / Directors / D.W. Griffith Biography

D.W. Griffith Biography

Full nameDavid Llewelyn Wark Griffith
Birth placeLaGrange, Kentucky, USA
Birth date1875-1-22
Age145 years, 3 month, 29 days
Star signAquarius
Height5' 10" (1.78 m)
SpouseLinda Arvidson

David Llewelyn Wark Griffith sources


David Llewelyn Wark Griffith Biography:

He directed the 1915 feature-length work Birth of a Nation, that has been a hit but was also exceptionally racist in content. After work contained Intolerance, Broken Blossoms and Orphans of the Storm. Griffith expired on July 23, 1948. An enthusiastic reader, the youthful Griffith finally worked as a novel clerk and later chose to pursue acting and write plays.

He did playing work for the Nyc film companies Edison and Biograph and went on to be a manager of numerous shorts for the latter firm, working with performers like Lionel Barrymore, Mary Pickford as well as the Gish sisters. He began to develop two-reel works and eventually made the four-reel movie Judith of Bethulia. (“Four-reel” meant the film could play for an hour or so.) At Biograph, Griffith was exceptionally advanced along with his filmmaking techniques, using cross cutting, close ups and fade outs to distinguishing effect, cultivating a profoundly psychological milieu.

By 1914, Griffith had left the firm and worked as a manager and head of creation with Reliance Majestic. He alone directed Birth of a Nation, released in 1915 and telling the narrative of the Civil War and Reconstruction era. Adapted from your novel The Clansmen, the work was seen as the very first U.S. hit and has been lauded for its initiating storytelling forms, significantly affecting modern moviemaking and shaping thoughts around crowd cultivation.

State, nevertheless, was blatantly racist and twisted history, using its demeaning characterizations of African Americans as well as a storyline that placed the development of the Ku Klux Klan as a way of revenge above a lady ‘s passing. The film earned much criticism from various paths, such as the NAACP, and riots broke out during showings. On the decades, State has continued to spur indignation and dialogue. Griffith’s following movie, the critically lauded Intolerance (1916), was again progressive in its narrative construction by juxtaposing four distinct locales and ages.

He made two pictures with audio, Abraham Lincoln (1930) and The Struggle (1931). Yet Griffith’s sensibilities were considered from sync with all the evolving tone of movie and he was not able to locate work, though he did give prints of his films to the Museum of Modern Art. He lived in resorts during his later years and died in Hollywood, California, on July 23, 1948.

D.W. Griffith Biography

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *